Prescott Car Accident Lawyer

The damages from a car accident injury may affect you for quite a long time. In addition to medical expenses, the impact of lost wages from missed time at work and pain and suffering can be very difficult to manage. Talking with a licensed attorney can be an important part of the recovery process.

At Phillips Law Group, we have been representing injury victims in Arizona since 1993 and have obtained more than $1 billion in compensation for our clients. We recovered $4 million for a driver who suffered a spinal cord injury in an accident and $3 million for an accident victim with a brain injury.

Our firm is led by founder Jeffrey Phillips, a Top 25 member of the Motor Vehicle Trial Lawyers Association and the National Brain Injury Trial Lawyers Association. Phillips has obtained verdicts in several Arizona counties, including Yavapai, Pima, Pinal, Gila, Mohave, Navajo and Maricopa.

We welcome a chance to discuss your accident and the legal options that may be available. The consultation is free, confidential and comes with no obligation to take legal action. Our attorneys do not get paid unless our clients receive compensation.

Schedule a free consultation by calling 602-222-2222 .

Am I Eligible to File a Claim?

There is often a lot of uncertainty after a car accident. Victims often do not know if they may be eligible to file a claim for compensation.

That is why many accident victims find it helpful to reach out to a licensed Prescott car accident lawyer for a free legal consultation. An attorney can review the details of your crash to determine if the other driver may have been at fault.

Some of the factors the lawyers at Phillips Law Group may consider when reviewing your accident include:

  • Your injuries
  • Treatment you have received
  • Witness statements taken at the scene
  • Any pictures you took, either of your injuries or the accident scene
  • Severity of damage to the vehicles
  • Insurance policies that may cover the accident
  • What you remember about the crash

After reviewing the specifics about your accident, we are prepared to discuss if you may have legal options and what your damages may be worth.

There is limited time to pursue compensation, so it is important to call a lawyer as soon as possible.

Free consultation. Phillips Law Group: 602-222-2222

What Happens if You Share Fault for the Accident?

Victims who were partially at fault for an accident can still pursue compensation for their injuries. Under Arizona state law, your percentage of fault for the accident will be used to reduce the amount of compensation you receive.

For example, if your attorney files a claim for $20,000 in damages, but you were found to be 20 percent at fault, your award would be reduced by 20 percent, or $4,000.

You can discuss this issue in more detail with a Prescott car accident lawyer from our firm. The consultation is free of charge.

What is the Value of My Case?

There are many factors that go into the value of a car accident claim, such as the damages suffered, how long they may affect the victim and whether the victim may be partially at fault for the accident.

The damages from a car accident can be divided into two types: economic or special damages and non-economic or general damages.

What are Economic Damages?

These are the out-of-pocket expenses incurred because of your injuries and damage to your vehicle:

  • Cost for surgery (and other miscellaneous hospital costs)
  • Blood tests
  • X-rays
  • MRIs
  • Prescription medications you take to deal with your injuries
  • Appointments with doctors and specialists
  • Cost of repairing your vehicle
  • Cost of replacing your vehicle if it is a total loss
  • Loss of wages if you are unable to work because of your injury or lose time because of doctor’s appointments

What are Non-Economic Damages?

Injuries not only result in medical bills, they also affect victims emotionally and psychologically. If you have a case, your Prescott auto accident lawyer may be able to pursue compensation for pain and suffering, which could include issues like depression or anxiety.

Victims may also be unable to participate in leisure activities they once did, which can lead to a loss of enjoyment of life.

Unlike some states, Arizona places no cap on the value of injury compensation. That means your lawyer can pursue the full value of the damages you may have suffered.

Discover the potential value of your claim at Phillips Law Group.

What Happens if the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?

Even though driving without insurance is illegal, many Arizona drivers still do it. When they cause an accident, victims often do not know if they have any options for pursuing compensation.

However, if you have uninsured motorist coverage in your own insurance policy, you may be able to file a claim for compensation against this coverage. These claims can be complicated and there are specific requirements that may need to be met before you can file an uninsured motorist claim.

Our Prescott car accident attorneys have detailed knowledge of these requirements and when uninsured motorist coverage may be available. For example, if the other driver has insurance but his or her coverage is less than the value of your damages, you may be able to use this coverage to pay for the difference.

Free legal consultation. No upfront fees. Ph: 602-222-2222

Deadline for Taking Legal Action

Insurance companies often have deadlines for filing claims, so it is important get the process started as soon as possible to avoid missing the opportunity to recover damages.

However, sometimes car accident cases are not resolved through insurance claims. If this happens, the last resort may be to file a lawsuit. Arizona’s deadline for filing a car accident lawsuit is stated in the statute of limitations ”“ two years from the date of the accident.

There are various exceptions to this deadline, which is why we recommend that you discuss the circumstances of your accident with an experienced lawyer. For example, minors have two years from their 18th birthday to file a car accident lawsuit. If the accident involved a government vehicle, you may have just 180 days from the date of the accident to file a notice of claim.

The deadline for your case may be an exception to the statute of limitations, so we encourage you to contact an attorney as soon as possible to review the specifics of your situation.

Benefits of Hiring a Lawyer

There are no guarantees in the injury claim process. However, it is often the case that victims who hire experienced attorneys recover more compensation than those who do not.

The attorneys at Phillips Law Group are dedicated to pursuing full compensation for injury victims. We understand how difficult it can be to recover after a car accident injury.

If you have a case and hire our firm, we are prepared to manage each step of the process on your behalf. We are dedicated to defending the best interests of our clients against insurance companies looking to lowball them and not pay out fair compensation.

While most cases are resolved through settlements, our Prescott car accident lawyers are prepared to go to trial if necessary. We know how to build robust arguments for injury cases as we seek maximum compensation.

Start today by submitting ourfree online Case Evaluation Form

Understanding Arizona’s Fault-Based Car Accident Liability System

Arizona follows a tort, or fault-based, system for determining liability after an accident. This means the at-fault driver is financially responsible for the victim’s damages.

This is also why Arizona requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of insurance coverage to pay for damages from an accident they cause. Drivers are required purchase $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage. This pays for medical expenses in an accident caused by the policyholder. Drivers must also have at least $10,000 to cover property damage suffered by the other driver.

To establish liability, you and your attorney must first prove that the at-fault party failed to uphold a legal duty of care, which resulted in your injuries and damages. A duty of care is a person’s legal responsibility to take reasonable measures to prevent harm to others. For example, a driver must obey the rules of the road.

Our Prescott car accident lawyers have many years of combined experience proving negligence in car accident cases.

What Should You do if the Insurance Company Calls?

Accident victims may be surprised to get calls from insurance companies after an accident. However, it is important to know why this happens.

Insurance companies know you are still recovering from the shock of your accident and vulnerable to being manipulated. Insurers taking this approach are fishing for any kind of information they can use to discredit your account of the accident and diminish the value of your injuries and damages.

They may ask the same questions multiple times to try to get you to say something that sounds like an admission of fault. They may also try to get you to gauge how severe your injuries are and how long it will take for you to heal.

You are not under any obligation to answer their questions, provide a recorded statement or accept a settlement offer. You can refer the insurer to your lawyer to help protect your best interests.

Types of Auto Accidents

Regardless what type of accident occurred, if someone else was at fault, you may have a case. Our attorneys are prepared to pursue compensation for many kinds of car crashes, including:

  • Rear-end accidents
  • Rollovers
  • Multi-car accidents
  • Head-on collisions
  • Sideswipes/T-bone accidents
  • Distracted driving crashes
  • Drunk driving accidents
  • Highway crashes
  • Left-turn accidents

If you were injured in a car crash and are considering whether you may be eligible to pursue a claim for your damages, we recommend that you contact a Prescott car accident lawyer at Phillips Law Group for a free legal consultation.

No upfront fees or legal obligations. Call 602-222-2222 .

Why do Accidents Happen?

Car accidents are often caused by careless or distracted drivers. There are many examples of negligence that may give an accident victim the basis for pursuing injury compensation:

  • Speeding
  • Reckless driving
  • Tailgating
  • Driving while drowsy
  • Traveling the wrong way on a road
  • Ignoring traffic signs or signals
  • Changing lanes without checking blind spots
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Distracted driving (texting, eating, doing make-up, changing the radio station,etc.)

If you believe there was some form of negligence that contributed to your crash, it is important to discuss the situation with a licensed legal professional.

Call a Prescott Car Accident Lawyer Today

Many car accident victims do not have the time or resources to investigate the crash or the ability to determine the full value of their damages. That is why many victims seek legal representation.

For more than 27 years, the legal team at Phillips Law Group has been assisting car accident victims in recovering damages. We know how important it is for victims to receive maximum compensation as they try to heal and move on with their lives.

We do not charge upfront fees to our clients. The initial consultation is also free of charge, and there is no obligation to pursue legal action if we determine you have a case.

Phillips Law Group is here to help. Ph: 602-222-2222